2023 Women of the Year Awards

  • Published
  • By Chustine Minoda
  • 60th Air Mobility Wing Public Affairs

Travis Air Force Base, Calif. -- Congressman John Garamendi, congressional representative of California’s 8th District, recognized 53 outstanding and dedicated women, six of whom are from Travis AFB, at Benicia Veterans Memorial Hall, Benicia, California, Oct. 12, 2023.

The honorees were recognized and awarded with a Congressional Commendation that will be preserved in the Congressional Record. Travis AFB award recipients included:

  • Amber Duncan, Military and Family Readiness community readiness specialist
  • Barbara Brewer, 21st Airlift Squadron unit program coordinator
  • TSgt Callie Aberin – Airman Leadership School senior instructor
  • Col. Elizabeth Aptekar – 60th Mission Support Group commander
  • Maj. Kayleigh Migaleddi – 60th Air Mobility Wing commander’s action group interim chief
  • Virgie Roy – David Grant USAF Medical Center nurse

Congressman Garamendi expressed his gratitude by stating that he is privileged to acknowledge remarkable women in his district who have made substantial contributions to their communities each year.